People buy good products that work, therefore, advertising is unnecessary and is no more than a form of entertainment. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Determining the impact of advertisement is an ongoing debate among customers. Some advocate the idea that advertising is just entertainment because almost all customers buy good and useful products. On the other hand, others argue that advertising is still useful to persuade them to buy products. I completely disagree with the notion because advertisements can help the public to know about good ones. First, people always try to find good products. For instance, if someone wants to buy a smartphone, they will buy a smartphone that has various functions and a cheaper price. However, they may not find products that they want to use, even though several companies have already developed and fabricated the goods that users want. Advertisement will be useful in that case because it can deliver some information about good products to buyers. Therefore, conducting advertisements plays a crucial role in helping purchasers choose good items. Second, consumers not only buy good products but also purchase some items although an advertisement for it was considered as entertainment. For example, there are several food-audition programs such as Hell's Kitchen and Masterchef that introduce several dishes and score them to determine the winner. Moreover, sometimes the chefs of the TV shows sell their cuisine that was shown in the audition programs in their restaurant to attract people’s attention. In that case, people want to eat the cuisine because they saw the dishes on TV, even though the foods were not revealed to be delicious. Consequently, people are not always smart consumers but sometimes spend money to fulfil their curiosity. To sum up, every person is not only a reasonable consumer but also consumes items to satisfy their curiosity. Hence, advertisements not only can deliver information of good items to purchasers who find good products but are also a useful method to draw the interests of consumers.