Some people believe that purpose of education should be helping the individual to become useful for society, while others believe it should help individuals to achieve their ambitions. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Part of the community thinks the ultimate goal of learning should be making a person suitable for fulfilling social requirements rather than targeting personal requirements. Most of the governments around the world spend public money on education and they provide this to achieve their targets in the future. In contrast, students who are learning to fulfil their personal agenda will most of the time migrate to a developed country. Due to these factors, I believe we should give education for our children to achieve social requirements. To begin with, when we consider about education system in most countries are funded by governments. The main objective of the government is to improve the living condition of its citizens. they will hope their population to have a good education and later serve their country. For example, in Sri Lankan government provide free education for primary,secondary and tertiary education and they will hope to improve the living condition of their citizens by this. On the other hand, when we think about students who target individual goals will usually not provide any answer for social problems. They will educate from local and foreign universities and achieve their individual targets. For instance, some of the Sri Lankan teenagers are learning space engineering since they love it. But ultimately, they will provide their service for developed countries like America and UK. In conclusion, most people in a country will vote on the education system that targets social requirements than individual targets. This can be supported by the fact that, most education systems are funded by governments and they are targeting their common problems. On the other hand, most of the individuals who get targeted education will not return to their motherland to serve. For these reasons, I think we should encourage the education system that will eradicate social problems.