A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today's world, we are living in the materialistic era while the social status and wealth of the person play a major role in determining value in society. To a certain extent, I somehow agree with the statement that material possessions are the driving factor while making a judgement about a person. However, I also believe that we cannot completely ignore the importance of moral values, like honesty and a positive attitude. First of all, the current generation is more inclined towards a materialistic world. Outer appearance such as clothes, jewellery, or luxury cars is valued more while making perception about another person. For example, many celebrities are famous only because of their expensive outfits even though they hardly show their good performance in acting on TV shows. However, we cannot completely ignore the relevance of traditional values. An employer will always look for those who have strong personality traits such as honesty, integrity and dedication to their work. Moreover, a businessman will always prefer to do business with a partner who values ethical practice rather than any fake work commitment. In other words, a person's worth is judged according to his attitude. To conclude, although the majority of judgments are still based upon the social status of the person, I believe that material possessions play a crucial role in determining an individual's worth. Despite the fact that these values may or may not be considered by some individuals who have an old-fashioned way of thinking.