In many countries today, crime novels and TV crimes drams are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV show are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

Humans are always attracted to the unknown. Crime novels and TV crime dramas combine the elements of suspense and thrill to satiate exactly that. Crime novels have been around for a long time with authors like Agatha Christie and Perry Mason. Tv crime dramas, however, have gained popularity only recently. In my opinion, the genre of crime, be they crime novels or TV shows, create an atmosphere of intrigue. This concept is also known as a whodunit. The primary objective here is to keep one’s audience glued to either the book or the television screen. I become increasingly curious when the storylines present red herrings. This is another tactic to keep the audience engaged. Hence, when the culprit is ultimately caught and the reader or the viewer managed to predict it accurately, the sense of satisfaction is exhilarating. And this unpredictability in the storylines has played a crucial role in making crime dramas and novels an all-time favourite. Another reason for their popularity is the guaranteed delivery of justice. In today’s,world criminal proceedings are excruciatingly slow and the chances of getting justice, in the end, are rather slim. Hence, when the crime dramas or books ultimately provide justice to their wronged characters, it gives their audience a sense of fulfilment that they do not receive in the real world. I personally enjoy the genre of crime irrespective of the format it is available in. To conclude, crime shows and books are popular because they shock, thrill and educate the audience. Personally, I enjoy crime fiction because it offers me good insight into the processes involved in solving a crime.