To meet the growing needs of food for the increasing population, country should make use of edible insects as foods. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but affect negatively the nature too. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Amid the growing need for food for the increasing population, some people are of the opinion that countries should start making use of edible insects as food. In contrast to this, some people disagree since they believe that insects are unhealthy and consuming them will also have a degrading effect on nature. If we ponder over the possibility of using edible insects, it may help with the food problem. For instance, if countries start using edible insects, this would lead to less dependency on staple foods like rice, wheat, etc. Eating insects can be beneficial for health as well. This has been highlighted time and again in studies done across the world. It is said that some insects contain proteins and other nutrients which are essential for human beings. Hence, consuming them can have a positive impact on health. A few countries already use insects as their food items. For example, in,China there is a variety of food available where the base ingredient of the food is an insect-like grasshopper or cockroaches. On the other hand, a lot of people are of different views. Since these creatures often dwell in dirty and filthy places, they are likely to be unhealthy for human consumption. Additionally, humans eating insects can disrupt the natural food cycle. Furthermore, if every country starts using insects as food, ultimately it will lead to a lesser population of these species and may even lead to their extinction. In conclusion, using insects as food items has its own advantage and disadvantage. It may solve the problem of food scarcity but can also trigger negative consequences.