Some people think that with the increasing use of mobile phones and computers, people lose the ability to communicate face to face. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many hold the view that growing dependency on hi-tech communication devices is killing the art of conversation. At the same time, there is some uncertainty as to the merits and demerits of this viewpoint. In this essay, I will review the issues to seek a solution. To begin with, there is no doubt that the introduction of the smart phone has created new forms of human behavior, such as focusing compulsively on the device rather than interacting with companions who are present. Moreover, the behavioral changes can reach comical extremes, such as when family members communicate by text although they are in the same house or even sitting at the same table. In addition, the new technology has made working from home increasingly popular, with the result that workers can lose the habit of interacting normally with their peers. On the other hand, however, it could be argued that technological improvements, rather than reducing interpersonal communication, have created additional tools to further enhance it. Furthermore, new communicative styles such as short message texting, social media presence and the extensive use of still and moving visuals have added to the range of options for sharing information more easily and efficiently. Also, as regards face-to-face communication, this can now take place in any place at any time thanks to videoconferencing and face-time technology, a major benefit for international businesspeople, as well as students or travelers who are far from home. To summarize, there is no doubt that modern high-tech communication devices and the infinite wealth of information on the Internet can serve as a distraction, with the potential to undermine interpersonal communication if used improperly. At the same time, however, the technological changes have increased the speed and convenience of communication by several orders of magnitude. In the final analysis, therefore, one can only conclude that smart phones and computers are the greatest leap forward in personal communication since Bell’s invention of telephony.