Walking is known to be beneficial for health yet fewer and fewer people are walking these days. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to tackle this problem?

Nowadays, walking as a physical exercise has been decreasing in popularity in spite of its advantages for physical and mental wellbeing. This is due to the lack of suitable places to exercise, and this situation can be solved by constructing parks and pathways dedicated to walking. Most of the major cities are crowded with people and buildings; thus, leaving no space to work out. Since walking exercise needs much space without distractions, people face multiple difficulties to perform it in overpopulated cities. As an example, the area I live in is the downtown of the city, Yangon, which is filled with busy traffic and businesses. As a consequence, I feel discouraged to go for a walk during my free time due to these obstacles. Government can alleviate this problem by building more public places and pedestrian pavements in the urban areas where a large number of people gather. These spots should be easily accessible from surrounding neighbourhoods and should have a large area that is sufficient enough to hold a great number of people without much disturbance. According to research from Griffith University, people are more motivated to do exercise, particularly walking, if they are provided with a peaceful and pleasant location near their houses. In conclusion, from strolling around to walking and jogging, these physical activities are not interesting enough for many people to perform them daily despite many beneficial effects for their health because there are not many available spaces for these actions; however, by building parks and allowing more public areas, people will become more enthusiastic to do these physical actions again.