Environment pollution is too alarming to be managed by individuals. Real change can be made at the government level. What extent do you agree or disagree?

The environmental problem has always been a problem for our Earth. Some people said environmental pollution is too alarming to be managed by individuals. Only government can help to make changes about it. To a large extent, I disagree with the claim. I believe it can be alleviated with the help of both government and citizens. First of all, it is understandable that people think only governments can stop environmental pollution. For example, Hong Kong Government phased out diesel commercial vehicles as well as strengthened emissions control on liquified petroleum gas and petrol vehicles. These actions were carried out to deal with the increasing air pollution problem created by the private vehicles' harmful gas emissions. However, the act of government can't solve the problems entirely without the cooperation and participation of individuals. There are so much that each and everyone can do. For instance, recycling paper, plastic and aluminium by throwing them into recycling bins instead of the rubbish bin; use electric fans rather than air conditioners to save electricity. In addition, we should also warn and stop others to behave and not littering on the ground or ocean. These actions may seem little and not noticeable, yet they will be effective if everyone is willing to do so. In conclusion, the government already doing a lot for our environment. It is also our duty to make it safe and clean for our future generation. We cannot leave everything on the authority to save our globe from pollution, we all should take steps together.