Many people strive to maintain a successful career and happy family life at the same time. What problems can this situation create? What are the possible solutions?

In a constantly-changing world these days, many people are making serious attempts to achieve a work- life balance. This ambition can be associated with some health problems, yet some feasible measures can be implemented to allow people to maintain a successful career and a happy family life simultaneously. It is undeniable that people are likely to suffer from physical and mental health deterioration when putting themselves under high pressure from gaining a work- life balance. In terms of physical conditions, people can easily get exhausted when trying their best to gain a sense of fulfilment in both aspects. In fact, people are facing a higher risk of redundancy and unemployment, or they have to deal with a heavy workload on a daily basis to cover their essential expenses in a competitive job market. At the same time, modern people need to complete many unnamed household chores and take care of their children. In other words, with a limited time of 24 hours, people may become physically weak over time if they push themselves to the limit so as to reach that goal. Furthermore, mental disorders such as stress or depression can probably be unavoidable. In particular, succeeding in jobs and having a happy family life at the same time in this era is quite challenging, and striving for it somehow makes people feel pressured. However, in order to achieve this goal, there are some possible solutions that should be taken into consideration. First of all, it is of vital importance for modern people to cultivate their time management and organizational skills. This is because a well-organized person can address all the tasks at work more efficiently and arrange everything in their house in place. In other words, they can still lead an admirable and comfortable life 24 hours a day. Besides, regarding the roles of family members, husbands and wives should support each other to maintain a work- life balance. For instance, at the early stage of marriage, women can sacrifice their careers to become housewives while men will attempt to earn money to strengthen their financial conditions as well as get themselves to prospective promotion chances. As a result, when their children grow up, men can spend more time for their family when already have a stable status in society, and women therefore can continue to follow their dream jobs and have a successful career life. In conclusion, there is no doubt that maintaining a balance between occupational success and family life is a strong desire of many people nowadays. Nevertheless, such an aim may lead to several physical and mental health problems. Having said that, with good organizational skills and sensible division in roles, people can still gain a work- life balance.