In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why do people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

There is a tremendously controversial perspective heating a debate over purchasing foreign food is more priority than local ones. This essay is devoted to the reasons why people buy overseas foodstuff, follow by some far-reaching resolutions to revamp homegrown ones. Without a shadow of a doubt, imported food has become increasingly ubiquitous for dwellers because of abundant reasons. Although several countries have progressive technology, weather or the degradation in land quality are large hindrances for them to cultivate diversity of food. Moreover, with the advance of international trade, ordinary citizens can easily taste new cuisine from other countries, which then brings experiences about special food to grow in their land. For example, the Americans can consume quintessential fruits of VietNam such as longan and rambutan because the government of the USA imported these fruits via cooperation between APHIS and the plant protection department of Viet Nam. Thus buying imported food brings a wealth of merits for consumers. Despite the fact that people tend to buy foreign foodstuff more, the government should adopt effective remedies to promote customers to purchase domestic one. One of the most useful actions is that the state can cash more in the agriculture of the country to amend the quality of food and ensure the safety of civilians. In addition, an increase in imported food taxes, as well as discounts on farming products, can be applied to raise the encouragement of customers. For instance, in the market, some sellers swindle money out of the public, which leads to a decrease in consumption of local food. To conclude, this issue is triggered by some reasons, however, it can be tackled by legal rules of the governors.