Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is it a positive development or negative one?

Mobile phones are widely used by everyone in the world. Although mobile phones provide easy access to fulfill the user’s needs, most of the schools have banned the use of mobile phones on campus. From my point of view, the restriction of mobile phones on campus is a positive step towards providing academic, physical and social benefits for students. Restricting phone use in the classroom itself can improve learning. Students who use mobile phones will have distractions as they will give more attention to their devices rather than studying. Students will have constant urge to check their phones for messages, notifications and reminders. It reduces their focus in the lessons that are being taught in the classroom. The lack of attention will have an impact on their academic studies. As the students are mostly distracted by their phones, they would not be able to understand the lessons. The usage of devices in classroom draws attention away from their lessons and materials taught. It creates distractions for students which affects their attention span and restricts their focus. Restricting phones on campus have a good impact in the well being of students. It is because students can communicate and socialise with their fellow classmates and teachers outside of their classroom. Students tend to use their phones when their class is over and they do not get time to sit around and talk to their friends. For instance, students use their lunch break to check their social media such as facebook, instagram and TikTok. They do not use their break to play in the playground or make conversation with their friends. This impacts their physical skills as well as their social and communication skills. Playing around campus helps with boosting their energy and talking with friends increases their social skills. The ban of using phones on campus allows the student to communicate effectively and helps increase their physical strength. In conclusion, the use of mobile phones have particularly increased throughout the years and it is common to use it everywhere. Many schools have put restrictions on the use of devices on campus which provides positive impacts for students. The ban on devices helps improve learning and well being of students.