Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are those who hold the view that the finest technique to lessen the unlawful act is to prolong the imprisonment. Nonetheless, several individuals think that there are other methods to minimize the crime rate. Sentencing them to longer imprisonment might be able to help them to think twice about their wrongful doings. Unable to get a job to supply their loved ones need, in that, they are not hesitant to rob a store or kill someone just to bring food to their table. That is why, extending their prison period the offenders will have the opportunity to meditate their illegal deeds, reflect their own behaviour and educate themselves by enrolling on vocational training while they are there. By that, once they are released they will not surely go back to their previous life. On the other hand, other societies proclaim that there are other mundane ways to bring down the crime rate. for example, community service for those minimal offenders but still highly monitored by security personnel for the safety of the community. Also, the death penalty for some individuals who has an unhumanitarian offence and by that will show a powerful warning in society which can cause lower crime incident. Thus, imposing strict punishment discourages people from committing offences towards society. In conclusion, being in prison for a long time will certainly instil fear in the mind of a probable criminal and discourage them from doing it. Moreover, I'm in favour of protecting innocent people by extending the imprisonment of a reckless criminal.