In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe that the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In some countries, individuals are of contrasting views about whether huge sums of money should be allocated to building new railway systems or developing the current public transit system. While a variety of reasons can justify the two strategies, it seems to me that major contributing factors, such as the size of the population should be considered before any decision is made regarding the two approaches. Those who are in favour of the improvement of the currently used transport system tend to be considerate about the government funds. They usually believe that it seems to be more cost-effective. The reasoning behind this might be the adequacy of current transport infrastructure to meet its clients need. Further justification would be that home-based occupations will be prevalent, which makes no need for building new railway systems. On the other hand, safety and rising environmental problems are the main reasons for those who support the construction of modern railway systems. They criticize the efficiency and adequacy of the available transport system. Most old buses consume more fuel, and this worsens air pollution, particularly in densely populated areas. Another compelling reason might be that modern railway system are clean, fast and safer than the old ones. It is highly likely that it reduces the burden of traffic congestion and also prevents bumper-to-bumper traffic usually experienced in megacities. Thanks to, modern control devices used in newly designed railway systems the odds of occurring rail accidents will be by far lower than before. From my point of view, new railway lines seem to be more efficient and effective than the old ones in terms of speed and safety. To sum up, I am convinced that the socio-economic and demographic features, for instance distribution of population, migration patterns are the main contributing factors to make a decision regarding the modes of transport whether current transport system to be developed or modern railway system to be built.