Many old building that are protected by law are part of a nations history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by news ones. How important is it to preserve old building? Should history stand in the of progress?

History and culture are necessary for society to understand how humans have evolved. Protecting buildings and other facilities which are related to the history of a country are a meaningful process by the government. Although, many claims that they should be destroyed to construct new ones. Constructions that are related to history provide essential knowledge about the nation's culture and history. Therefore, they should be maintained as they are and they should not be counted as a problem for future constructions. To begin with, these buildings provide an overview of the history in terms of the progress of evolvement of the society. For example, the structure of human bodies has changed over the last hundred years. The old buildings which are left are constructed in smaller scales for humans that are shorter and need less space compared to nowadays where the height of humans has increased. As a result, not only do these buildings indicate how humans have evolved but also how engineering design has changed over the last decades. At the same time, history should be used creatively and helpfully to maintain these buildings as there are. Firstly, construction of facilities could be done in other regions of the cities. For instance, they could be built outside the cities. In this way, the city would be extended and the old buildings which are related to art would be protected. Secondly, the old buildings could be used for new purposes such as galleries, museums or even entertainment facilities such as cafeterias. Therefore, not only would the economy be stimulated but also would the citizens given the opportunity to learn new information about their history and culture. In conclusion, old buildings are essential to be maintained as they are in favor of human evolvement. They should be used properly to provide society with a significant amount of benefits. In my opinion, it is vital that old buildings related to history be considered part of the past and culture and not as a drawback for the future evolvement.