It seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

Over the last decade, educational teaching trends for students has been changed significantly. It becomes to access students through exams instead of assessments. I will discuss more details about the advantages and disadvantages of exams in this essay. I believe that there are many advantages of exams as an assessment tool to students. Firstly, one of a simple fact that a student's ability can be seen through exam's result. It can be said in another way that the result shows what is the weakness of student in which. For instance, IELTS exam, people simply can judge the level of a student's English language ability by seeing their result. Secondly, an exam teaches the students that in order to get a good result, a proper preparation time is needed. It is an important lesson which requires for our future. By contrast, many believe that there are many forms of tests that will be faced in life but those would not be exactly like a school exam. In some problems, teamwork and negotiation processes are required to solve certain problems. Moreover, exams provide only a personal improvement. Those are not the only accessing tool to judge students ' abilities. It may lead to a negative effect and give huge pressure on students ' minds sometimes. For example, the students who accept that exam's result is a moment of truth to show their ability, sometimes even try committed suicide because of their deteriorate outcome which is not the same as their expectation. Furthermore, exams, sometimes raise the morale of fear that the bad result determines the life of students. This is a totally wrong concept most people believed. There are plenty of examples to prove that some world-famous people had been a poor exam result in their childhood. To sum up, although exams are having both advantages and disadvantages, in some countries, exams are still popular and increasingly using it as a form of students' assessment.