In many cities, young people prefer shopping as a form of leisure activity. Why do you think this happens? Is it a positive or negative development?

Shopping is one of the most preferred leisure activities among youngsters in many cities across the world. Advertisement and the Lack of recreational centres are the main reasons for this trend of excessive shopping. while in my opinion, this is a negative development which can lead to wastage of money, it can help the economic growth of the society. To begin with, advertising on TV and in magazines tempts juveniles to buy products and luxury items they do not need and influence their shopping habit. Additionally, most of the cities don’t have recreational centres such as sports clubs or parks which they can use to spend their leisure time. Consequently, most people prefer to do shopping as a pleasurable activity to break the monotonous routine from their busy work schedule and to replenish themselves from their exhaustion level. One serious problem that teenagers spend their free time shopping is that it can lead to losing their money. Teenagers are spending money excessively to buy the latest trends of mobile phones, clothing, cosmetics, and gadgets, thus, ruining their savings and putting themselves under financial debt. In addition, peer pressure forces people to keep up with the latest trends. For example, two juveniles compete to buy the most up-to-date clothes. On the other hand, while some might argue that shopping is largely a waste of time, I feel that its economic advantages outweigh other concerns. Masses of wealthy middle-class consumers contribute greatly to economic prosperity and that brings various benefits to all socioeconomic classes. This new trend improves economies that now have more consumers to buy products and greater demand leads to greater production which positively affects the economy. Malls, as one crucial part of a consumer society, serve to encourage spending and national prosperity. In conclusion, the lack of cultural and sports facilities has led most young people to consider shopping as a pastime, which wastes their money, but also improves the country's economy. If governments were to invest more money in tax cuts this would further encourage spending at malls and help developing nations and developed ones whose growth has plateaued.