Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Without a doubt, adolescents should be taught how to be a responsible part of society. Many people argue who can easily teach them that – parents or teachers. I believe that it is parents ’ role to introduce these characteristics to young people as early as possible. In this essay, I will examine both notions and state my own. Firstly, children usually join school when they are around six years old. By that time their opinions and outlook on life has already started forming and they discover who they are and what is good much earlier than that age. Moreover, kids usually ask a lot of questions, as they are very interested in what surrounds them and how society works. Furthermore, parents will be the first people that patiently explain and teach them basics of social life. What is more, often as teenagers grow up they are less eager to learn new things and sometimes it might be too late. If they do not have a good environment that they grow up in, they will be highly influenced by their friends and might think that these are the morals they should refer to in life. Later, when parents try to change that they may realize it is too late as the child has strong opinion on some aspects already. On the contrary, some parents are not the best teachers and they think school would teach children how to be good members of society better. In addition in some families parents are rarely home and they do not have enough time to show their kids everything they would want to. Then school is a perfect place for that as there are little ones from different families and they learn how to respect and love one another. All in all, children can be taught how to act in society either at home or in school. In my opinion, the best time to do it is as early as possible by parents, because that is the time when the young ones are the most eager to learn.