Some people think that museums should be enjoyable places to entertain people, while others believe that the purpose of museums is to educate. Discuss both views and give you own opinion.

People have differing views about the benefits of visiting the museum. While some people say that museums are recreational places, I do not agree with this idea. In this essay, I will discuss both points of view and give my perspective. Some parents hold an opinion that museums are suitable sites for them to visit at the weekends. One reason is that museums have a comfortable environment whether the weather is raining or not. In addition, the entry fees of the museums are cheap or even free. Thus, museums are becoming more and more popular holiday sights. For example, The British Museum is a well-known museum around the world. The ticket to the museum is free for most exhibitions. Nevertheless, The British Museum is big enough for a family to visit its displays for a whole day. However, many people are convinced that the main purpose of visiting museums is to get information about those displays’ history, backgrounds and functions. The public can attend the guideed tour to learn the knowledge from those experts. Nevertheless, if you miss out the time of introducing by the professional guider. You also can borrow a portable multimedia machine. Thus, it is not only convenient for you to pause anytime but also you can pick up some parts which you are interested in. In conclusion, while there are some reasons why parents take their children to the museums for entertainment at the weekend, I still believe that most people who go to the museums want to learn some knowledge from books.