In future all cars, busses and trcuks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passangers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

The recent advancement in technology has ear-marked a new era of vehicle designs. To counteract the stress of being stuck in traffic, self-driven cars, buses and trucks could provide the solution. However, there are arguments for and against this idea which will be tackled in this essay. In my opinion, I consider it to be more of a disadvantage than of any benefit. The use of these driverless vehicles can have some form of minimal and temporal advantage since it accords its users an opportunity to spend more time on their personal items while on board. To illustrate, in the year 2013 the road traffic agency of Zambia conducted a survey on causes of road traffic accidents and it was determined that distractions and a lack of concentration by drivers were the culprit. In other words, if people use self-driven vehicles to travel, they can focus on dealing with personal issues without endangering their lives. This is something that can only be attained by utilizing this type of vehicle. In spite of the foregoing statement, the disadvantages are quite too numerous and grave to overlook. In as much as a human error could be penalised for most accidents, it is human intelligence and the ability to judge circumstances differently and according to their uniqueness, that helps prevent a majority of traffic accidents. For example, regardless of how advanced the artificial intelligence installed on a vehicle might be, it will only work as programmed hence failing to avoid situations that a person can. Based on these findings, I consider this subject of having self-driven cars, buses or trucks to be with more disadvantages than advantages. In conclusion, whether we derive some limited leisure and luxury from driverless vehicles or not, they can never replace human-driven vehicles in which the driver can make sound judgements. I believe the risk of even entertaining this idea can lead to disaster.