Nowadays, many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or oganisation. Why might be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In recent years, several individuals have wanted to own their own businesses, rather than work for an organisation or firm. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons for this change, as well as the potential drawbacks of being self-employed. These days owning a business has become a trend. To put it another way, there could be two possible reasons for this change. Firstly, an individual can make more money than working for a company. The second reason could be a better lifestyle and more convenience than a hired employee. For instance, my father is an IT professional working for an organisation and my uncle owns a supply chain business. If we want to go out for a trip, my dad always has problems getting leave, while my uncle can take leave anytime as he is the boss. Hence, I believe that there are more benefits to being self-employed. On the other hand, there could be some risks associated with owning a business. In other words, business always has fluctuations in terms of cash flow, it totally depends on the company's sales. Even though a self-employed person can make a good amount of money, there is also a possibility that they can make less money than an employed professional at some point. Other than this, business owners have to make endless sacrifices in their personal lives. A person has to add more time and effort than an employed professional for the well-functioning of the business. To illustrate, as my uncle is self-employed, he is always worried about the smooth functioning of his business and he is also occupied during the weekends, which eventually has an effect on his family life. In conclusion, there are both pros and cons of being self-employed. However, in my opinion, taking all the risks and owning a business is totally worth, it because the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.