Mnay manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

"You are what you eat" so goes the old adage. In order to match the pace of the ever-busy and demanding lifestyle, many people opt to consume high sugar level drinks so that they can remain energetic for long periods. On the other hand, it is argued that such products should be made expensive so as to discourage many from buying them. Personally,I agree with this notion that hicking the prices upwards is the solution. This essay will tackle the reasons for my opinion. Two reasons are behind this factor. Firstly, sugar products increase the risk of acquiring diseases easily. For instance, a survey conducted by the ministry of health in Zambia in 2010 on the effects of sugars on teeth, proved that a person is 60 per cent likely to have tooth decay if he consumes a high-level sugar product even if it is once in his lifetime. In other words, sugars make the body prone and vulnerable to sugar eating bacteria. Therefore, such products should be made expensive to reduce the intake of these products and curb the resulting illnesses. The second reason linked to the first is that high sugar levels in the human body give one a false sense of prolonged energy levels, the person is more likely to become malnourished as a result of skipping meals. To illustrate, a person who takes a high-level sugar product is will remain active for more than 6 hours without having a need to eat or have another drink. Therefore, instead of having another meal within 4 hours from the last one, the deceiving energy levels in his body will make a person skip his meal and eventually get malnourished. In conclusion, increasing the prices of high-level sugar products can help lessen the risk of diseases and malnutrition. This,in my opinion, is the solution to the problem