Many supermarkets are selling more and more products that are imported from other countries instead of selling food that is locally sourced. What are the reasons for this? Is thus a positive or negative development?

In the present day, living in a consumerist and fast-paced world, the number of international products which are available for the citizens has become increasingly popular. Although some establishments strive to maintain national items, this process is complex and hard due to the variety of them. Because of this, it is necessary to understand the reasons behind this progress in order to solve possible complications in the future. First and foremost, one of the main reasons for this situation is that there are a plethora of imported products by virtue of the influence of social media and also because of globalization where people are connected to each other all the time through technology. For instance, according to research published by Harvard University, almost 87% of all countries in the world present some influence of American culture either because of food or because of music. Secondly, another reason for this setback is the quantity and variety of international products in relation to different and attractive goods are much higher when comparison local items. Moreover, some imported ones present not only better prices but also better quality. Take a survey carried out by The New York Times as an example where the same cellphone, when bought abroad, can be three times cheaper. In other words, this competition among goods can lead to better outcomes for customers since they may save money. Finally, this current situation is negative progress since there is no investment in local and small services. Furthermore, this absence of stimulation may lead to bankruptcy for small companies. The more investment in international items, the worst the economy of small cities. For example, due to the pandemic, almost 73% of local services needed to shut down in some towns. In conclusion, imported goods can promote progress when they may broaden the horizons in relation to some topics, however, the drawbacks are more complicated since they can damage local services. Therefore, it is necessary a perfect balance so as to avoid more disadvantages.