In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

Many people around the globe believe that one must work before proceeding to go for higher education. That notion, however, depends on which areas of life one considers being vital and requires first priority. This essay will consider both sides of the argument. Two reasons are behind the idea of supporting one to work before getting into university. The advantages of working before starting university include the following reasons. Firstly, it is believed that this enables one to earn some money that can be used to pay for the tuition fees and other university -related expenses later. For example, when an individual has a means of income before being enrolled in university, this will accord his means to pay for all the needed college or university expenses by himself even if the family can not assist him. Secondly, when a person decides to work before studying at the university, he is allocated sufficient time to undergo some form of maturity required to survive university life. To illustrate, following a survey conducted by the Royal University in Zambia on the importance of maturity while at the university, it was determined that a person who allows a year in between university life and work performs well academically. In spite of these benefits, there are two primary disadvantages that result. Firstly, if a person decides to work before getting into college, it hinders him from achieving his goal in the stipulated time frame. Take, for instance, if a person planned on pursuing Nursing as a career but decides to postpone it for a year, he will not complete the course at the same time as he would have if he started immediately. Finally, a delay in going for higher learning results in poor academic performance. For instance, a person who has just completed secondary education is still able to easily continue progressing well at the university unlike one who has delayed doing so. In conclusion, there are both benefits and undesirable sides to this matter. But whichever way a person decides to take, it is entirely up to him so long he considers either side critially.