The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in the school curriculum. To what extent do you agree ?

Due to its huge impact on quality of life, overweight has becoming a major public health concern lately that could lead to lifelong disease like diabetes. Some people argue that the best way to prevent this chronic illness is by actively doing exercise since young age through sport lessons as a part of school curriculum. I personally agree if this scheme is applied, as it will build children's character as well as encourage pupils to love sport from childhood. First and foremost, getting involved in sports activities at school will develop children ’s character because some sports, such as football and baseball, require great teamwork to win. Teamwork itself can teach pupils to work with fellow humans with different personalities, which I believe will benefit them to expand their networking in professional life later. In addition, such activities also promote the sense of competition that makes children realize their potential and strive for it. Secondly, having physical education as a part of school syllabus will encourage children to love sport from childhood and make it a part of lifestyle later as adults. I recall the moment when I was in elementary school and had swimming as one of the mandatory subjects at school. Through the lesson, now I put swimming as my regular exercise and do it twice a month to maintain my weight. Lastly, children who are doing sports activities regularly will less likely to suffer from obese in which also will avoid them from chronic disease caused by weight gain. To conclude, I support the school ’s idea to make sport as one of their subjects because it delivers positive effects on pupil's character and forms sustainable behaviour in adulthood. This is as long as children are given a balanced proportion between physical and science lessons at school.