The promoters of social media claim that they are connecting people and enabling people to share like never before. While critics claim that social media site often impinges upon one’s privacy. Discuss both views and give your opinion

The opinion is divided as to whether or not social media is impacting society positively. Although some persons argue that online platforms are causing limitations to private life, however, others believe that it has made communication easier which I completely agree with. This essay will discuss both views in detail followed by a reasoned conclusion thereafter. To begin with, some major drawbacks occur due to the influence of the internet on our private lives. Firstly, the rate of online fraudulent activities is now on the increase. As a result, many businesses have crumbled when defrauded leading to poor trust and partnership among entrepreneurs. Moreover, there is the risk of divulging critical personal information. For instance, blackmailing of politicians and wealthy people by criminals can happen when sexual content or previous bad records is gained assess. Consequently, there is damage to the image of such individuals. On the other hand, one cannot overemphasize the beauty of media platforms especially in the aspect of communication. Connecting with family and friends is now very easy. Accordingly, people can leave far apart and still keep in touch. For example, statistics have shown that more married couples are currently able to work in separate regions because they are able to connect with each other through Facebook, Whatsapp and other means. Thus keeping them close together. Also, the relevant information is quickly circulated across the globe without cost. Therefore, sharing of materials and data by different socioeconomic groups is enhanced. In conclusion, even though online platforms can lead to increased criminal activities, I believe that the positive impact it has on keeping loved ones united is far more beneficial.