We live in a world of technology these days. While the internet brings with it clear advantages, the problems in terms of control and security of information outweighs the advantages. To what extent do you agree?

Technology is the most common phenomenon these days. Almost every person has access to the internet either via a phone, computer, tablet etc. Many people say that despite the advantages that the web brings with it the data security concerns are far greater. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and give reasons why the merits are more valuable than the demerits. Firstly, the online world provides easy access to information across the world. Many people rely on the digital landscape for their education, work or even to build a knowledge bank. Further, the internet allows us to facilitate our daily needs and uses as well. For instance, I use the web to make medical appointments, connect with family, order food and even for my job. Secondly, the Pandemic has further emphasized the importance of technology since it has forced us to function remotely. If not for tech, the economy would have been far worse than it is today. Thirdly, digital companies are huge contributors to the world’s GDP and the work that they do heavily impact global business. Having said that, there are many issues that the net brings with it that have been recently flagged. Data storage and selling, breaches of security and control are some of the common threats to society. Applications are designed to influence and capture audiences rather than meet their needs. Take the example of the latest court hearings against the top companies in the USA i.e. Google, Apple, Facebook and Amazon. The allegations against these companies are that they store and sell data to advertisers which is deemed unethical. In conclusion, despite the serious advantages, technology should be encouraged but with caution. organisations must act responsibly, and users must learn the dangers of excessive use and act accordingly.