In many countries today, families are not having meals together on a daily basis. Why is it? Is it a positive or negative development?

People do not have a family meal as regularly as they used to in previous years. In this essay, I will discuss some of the causes of the problem as well as the negative consequences for people. To begin with, there are two main reasons that lead to people do not spend much time having a meal together. Firstly, with the development of the economy, people now have higher workloads and more hectic schedules. For this reason, they tend to meet up with friends, colleagues, and business partners someplace near their office or schools, such as a food corner or a restaurant because of its convenience and flexibility rather than homemade food. Secondly, their eating habits are affected by the fast-food culture of modern living. The more the variety and convenience of fast food, the more people will eat it as their main meal. It cannot be denied that the presence of fast-food chains on many corners of several streets may easily lead to people grabbing a quick bite instead of dining with their families. As a consequence, having a habit of eating outside seems to have harmful impacts on our lives. First and foremost, this problem will affect directly the relationships with members of the immediate family. Parents and children don’t have a chance to discuss stories at school or in the workplace so they can’t get to know each other. For this reason, it leads to many misunderstanding issues and a weaker family bond. Moreover, family meals also play an integral role in providing enough nutrition and having a healthy balanced diet. Without regular family meals, the body will lack many nutrients such as fruits, vegetables, minerals, vitamins that can lead to serious problems health such as obesity. In conclusion, I believe that there are certain reasons why people do not have meals together regularly that will bring negative effects on our life.