Some people believe that a gap year between school and university is a good idea, while others disagree strongly. Consider both sides of this debate and present your own opinion.

In today's world, graduating from high school is a big step in the entire life that affects students ' decisions. People who appreciate the positive effects of the gap point to a certain claim that it is a good idea, while the opponents also strongly believe that the gap year is unuseful. In my perspective, even though both arguments contain substantial reasons, it appears to me that the free period between school and university is an extremely creative idea and we will explain now. Turning to negative effects of the gap year, with some merit that the students could lose motivation in learning if they do not apply for the university in the year after, it creates fear to the parent industries, and the adverse bias is stemming from this situation. For instance, a gap year is an unapproved action in Thailand that students might get pressured by their parents as a result. Furthermore, as it is not all students who take a gap year, the power of comparison is definitely happening and that mainly affects those students, sitting alongside their parents indirectly. Granted there are huge drawbacks stemming from this situation, the higher volume of time to realize their preferences and to rest are indeed benefit those students. Firstly, it seems not rather excessive to claim that the students have a very short time to explore their likeliness, and the increasing number of transfer students in the university was proved this. Secondly, huge pressure from family and other factors would cause too much stress for those freshmen, however, this can be cured by a free period to rest after their graduation. Therefore, it is indeed true that the gap year is effective and it provides a wide range of benefits. In conclusion, it is agreed that the free period creates more positive impacts than the adverse one. This can be seen in the extra time to explore their real preferences and rest. In the long run, if the merit that points to the ineffective factors of the gap year is gone, applying to the university will not be as stressful as in present society anymore.