In some countries, younger people are neglecting their right to vote. What problems does this cause and what are some of the possible solutions?

In many nations, young people are overlooking their opportunity to participate in elections. The primary problem of this phenomenon is the under-representation of youth in democratic processes, and the most viable solution is to educate their citizens about the dangers and consequences of such disengagement. When young people choose not to vote, it can have negative consequences for them. That is to say, the people who actually vote are mostly older citizens whose concerns are limited to specific issues that reflect their own needs. As a result, whoever wins the election will focus more on the interests of older people, since they are the ones who voted for him, and will likely ignore the needs of the youth. For example, in Japan, they have a significant problem with the fact that their young citizens don't vote, and the majority of the voters are older adults. Therefore, the policies serve the old people more than the youth, and they tend to ignore the issues faced by younger generations. This results in the new decisions and laws failing to reflect the needs of the younger people, despite the fact that they represent a huge percentage of the population. A long-term solution to this predicament is to educate young people about the dangers of inadequate youth representation in politics. Children in schools could be taught about the importance of voting and how to effectively voice their needs to the government. They are also likely to teach their parents about the things they learnt at school, and adults will also be influenced by this initiative. For example, schoolchildren in KSA were taught about the consequences of the limited political involvement of young people. In conclusion, in some states, youngsters are overlooking their privilege to cast a ballot, resulting in youth exclusion from political processes, and the best way to curb this dilemma is to teach the public about the importance of the youth vote.