Some people think that increasing communication usage of computers and mobile phones by young people has had a negative effect on their reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

In modern life, communicating via the internet by using computers and smartphones become a more and more popular trend. Several people argue that this technology influences negatively the ability of reading and write. I partly agree with this view. To begin with, there are some advantages for young people to use advanced technology for improving reading and writing skills in daily life. First and foremost, in terms of reading, it creates more convenient conditions for youngsters to read books, magazines or other data. For example, thanks to computers or mobile phones connecting the internet, the young will have a chance to read the news at all times. The more time children spend on reading, the more fluently they read. In addition, it also helps children enhance their writing skills. For instance, young people can learn the style of writing of other people. Due to the fact that there is a variety of information on the internet and some of them are free, young people can realize what structured sentences are good for their essays. One other advantage is that computers can accelerate in editing information. For example. youngsters can modify the wrong words or sentences by deleting and replacing them rather than rewriting totaly as previously. On the other hand, this method of communication has some drawbacks. Firstly, regarding reading, young people can be confused by complex information and inaccurate data sources. It is clearly seen that there are a huge number of websites and information on the internet which are out of control, people can be impacted negatively through the grapevine, and as a result, it may affect badly on childrens' behaviours. Moreover, some applications and programs such as Microsoft Office are installed to fix the mistakes automatically, therefore, young people do not have enough time to understand their errors and have the same faults at other times. In conclusion, although there are some disadvantages of interacting on the internet through computers and mobile phones, I strongly believe that this method plays an integral part in improving writing and reading skills for young people provided that it is spent in a proper way.