Some schools prefer to teach specialised subjects to students after the age of 15, while others suggest that all the subjects should be taught throughout school life. What are the benefits of these 2 approaches? Which one is better, in your opinion?

It has been an attractive topic that which kind of education our schools should offer: general education or core curriculum? This question has arisen with the increasing complexity of contemporary knowledge structure, whose colossal size forces us to choose between teaching students some particularly general knowledge and helping them obtain some specific skills with the cost of learning fewer about the world. To better understand the issue, this essay will first discuss the merits of general education and thence that of the core curriculum. After that, I will present my own perspective about which is more desirable. First, one of the advantages of general education is that it can help cultivate a comprehensively developed individual. To illustrate, there was a notorious hacker named Jack, who was notable for penetrating many international companies' inner networks, such as Nvidia, and City Bank. After being arrested and prosecuted, he partly blamed these crimes on his lack of moral education. This example suggests that merely a skill-related curriculum cannot cultivate a person who is useful for society. What is at least equally crucial is the moral education that usually comes from general education, or humanitarian courses. Unlike the humanistic literacy offered by general education, the core curriculum's advantages are more concerned with conferring specific abilities. For instance, in my hometown, there is a School of Textiles, whose students concentrate more on knowledge pertinent to fabric production. This kind of concentration makes them extraordinarily skilled in producing high-quality cloth after graduation. This example indicates that although general education can promote the comprehensive development of people, being engrossed with a certain course is more likely to produce experts in some fields. To summarize, general education can cultivate a comprehensively-developed individual while a core curriculum produces people with specific skills. This is the unavoidable consequence of nowadays knowledge structure. What we should pay attention to is to determine which is more essential during a certain period rather than adopting a single approach in education. Only in this way can an individual with both integrity and outstanding skills be brought up in the school.