A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is often argued that today, people judge others based on their social status and material possessions, instead of old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust. I strongly agree with this opinion because how people judge others right now have such strong correlations to how they expose themselves through social media both professionally and personally. Firstly, social media is used to share and express our ideas, opinions and thoughts. Social media in a way is a convenient way to get to know someone without having to interact with them. Due to this, it is very easy for someone to judge others and receive strong impressions from them without getting to know them personally. This leads to many people prioritising the importance of how they look and what they have instead of sharing who they really are. In addition to that, people can now make money based on how they present themselves on social media. For instance, to be sponsored by known clothing brands, one must have many photos of their full-body wearing clothes from big brands. By doing this, they will be able to attract more brands. However, as there are no barriers to who can access these contents, they might accidentally influence the viewers to post the same photos just so they can have the same persona on social media without understanding the whole narrative. To summarize, I strongly believe that people today seem to care more about social status and material possessions instead of the old-fashioned values because of how influential social media is towards the personal and professional life of someone.