The probability of an offender committing a crime after serving the first punishment has increased. What is the reason for this and how can this problem be tackled?

In recent times, the recurrence of an criminal activity being conducted again, despite serving a sentence for an act of crime by an criminal prior has increased. In this essay, I will explore the reasons for this rising problem and suggest possible solutions. Firstly, I will discuss the economic factors leading to such crime and secondly, will provide an insight into the acceptability of the society for an convicted person. To begin with, many a times after a criminal is released from prison there is lack of rehabilitation facilities & employment opportunities. Even though, the person might want to earn his livelihood honestly but due to his criminal record there is a dearth of employment opportunities and is unable to earn a decent living. Consequently, Due to lack of funds the person resorts to his previous unlawful activities for sustenance. One solution, can be the government having a counselling program for convicts who are to be released and having an employment program for them in place. As a result, they will be able to take care of themselves financially without engaging in criminal activities. Another reason for a released convict to engage in crime is that the acceptance of the society to prior criminals is very low. Most of the times, The person carries the stigma of his previous crime through out his life and the society is not benevolent enough in forgiving him. cause of this, the person is unable to start a fresh and starts holding grudges against the society pushing him to a life of crime again. One solution, can be, that a counsellor is hired by the government who keeps a weekly tab on the mental state of the person and communicates with him on how he is being treated by the society. As a result, the person will be able to vent his frustration and be ensured that there is some one handholding him through this phase. To conclude, There are certain reasons why an act of crime is committed despite a sentence being served. The government must ensure there are programs in place to ensure that the released person can become an integral part of the society an dis not tainted by his past.