Nowadays celebrities are more famous for their glamour and wealth than for their achievements, and this sets a bad example for young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is a fact that some celebrities become more popular for their luxurious lifestyles and possessions these days rather than for their mesmerising accomplishments. To a certain extent, this kind of popularity tends to lead young people in the wrong direction. However, there are also some celebrities who got to the place that they are at the moment for their actions and accomplishments. On the one hand, some celebrities pursued easy ways to get famous such as getting married to a popular or rich person, living a fancy, shopaholic lifestyle or even doing unbelievable things and streaming live sessions. Moreover, it has become easier as social media platforms such as TikTok and instagram turned into a spotlight especially for those kinds of people. For instance, the Kardasian family members are now billionaires with all the money gained from their reality show and hot topics of Hollywood despite the fact that not even one of them has a talent such as acting, singing or doing sports. Additionally, a group of TikTokers named Hype House is such a hit and on the tip of the tongue of every teenager these days but what they are doing are inappropriate performances, dances, partying and even breaking rules and restrictions during the pandemic. Such kinds of influences only aim to gain publicity and send a wrong message to the youngsters that successful life means wealth and accessories and it does not have to be meaningful. On the contrary, it is great to have such kinds of famous people who live with compassion and put their great efforts to gain success in life. From their perspective, a way to success is a combination of passion, hard work and strong determination. Those are the people who apply themselves in developing their skills and abilities through perseverance. As an example, a korean boy band named BTS is nowadays among the most famous celebrities in this 21st century. They came all the way from South Korea and broke amazing records one by one in a way that no South Koreans have ever done before. All the members came from rural areas of their country to Seoul and worked so hard even before their debut. As a result, now they’ve become a tourism ambassador of their country and worked with the United Nations to help improve the mental health of youths under the program called “Love yourself”. Due to their hard work, now, they’ve set a great example and become idols to young people all over the world and made those youngsters believe in themselves and their worth. In conclusion, it is true that as various types of social media platforms are being accessible these days, children are likely to be influenced by the so-called celebrities. Anyway, there are still some famous people who can make young people believe that their dreams could come true with hard work and passion. Thus, in my opinion, I think it is best if young people become more selective with choosing their role models.