Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well . To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinions diverge on whether teenagers should spend their leisure time doing required unpaid community work as this can be beneficial for both individuals and society. While it is true that the young should be required to do unpaid work, it is my belief that unpaid community work should only be encouraged among teenagers. There are several reasons why community work should be obligated to young people. For one, doing community work can help students acquire experience and skills such as communication skills. This can be explained by the fact that while doing the work, they have to communicate with other fellows, which is likely to boost their confidence to express themselves. Another reason is that teenagers’ volunteer work can have a great impact on a whole society developed by youngsters, since they are provided with experience and knowledge, which would create a decent community to live in. For example, the rate of criminal significantly decreased in Sri Lanka due to the introduction of volunteer work in schools. Despite the above arguments, I firmly believe that unpaid community work should not be mandatory to teenagers. It must first be recognized that students are under enough pressure with their studies. In fact, the average time the young have to spend at school is 8-10 hours a day,n which means that school is just as demanding as a full-time job. In addition to this, I would argue that it is against the value of a free and fair society to force a group of people to do something against their wills. Doing this can only raise hatred attitudes amongst young people, which might create a rebellious generation with many social-related problems affecting human’s lives. In conclusion,while requiring unpaid community jobs brings certain benefits to individuals and society, I would argue that community work should only be voluntary. It is thus recommended that schools should organize volunteer activities for students who want to engage in helping others.