Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

Alimentation being transported long distances around the world has drawn much discussion amongst the general public. Personally, I am inclined to the view that the merits of consuming goods locally cultivated considerably prevail over the downsides. One of the cogent reasons for purchasing local fare is in terms of the economical benefits, which will help the community farmers. When people spend their money acquiring food planted in their community, instead of purchasing items produced in other parts, the money is inserted back into the community. So promoting it is a way of guaranteeing that the whole region gains. As an example, many co-operatives are created by local farmers and sold locally for a good price. Additionally, there is the fact that local feed tends to be less detrimental to the environment, as there is considerably less use of transportation since goods are sold near the region they are planted. However, there are some drawbacks that cannot be ignored, one of which is the fact that depending on the country, people might suffer from the lack of certain items in specific periods of the year. To illustrate such a situation, in my city there is a shortage of tomatoes during winter, cause of the high quantity of snow in the crops. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that the vantages of people buying food from local markets in terms of helping the economy of the region, as well as the environment, since there is no need to have long transportation, seems to dramatically outweigh the drawbacks such as the eventual lacking of some products.