Some people think sending criminals to prison is not an effective way to deal with them. Education and training are better. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversial statement heating a debate over whether law-breakers should be well-educated and trained while being kept in captivity. Personally, I consider myself an advocate of this perspective due to the redeeming features that it might bring to offenders as well as the whole society. It is evident that providing education and training courses while being captured in jail can enormously do wonders for offenders, especially after they are released. It is by no means easy for a perpetrator to reintegrate into society and land a decent job after a long time being imprisoned due to their criminal record and skill level, and hence increase the rate of repeating convict crimes again. Therefore, offering training programmes can prevent this phenomenon by facilitating offenders with essential insights and different sets of skills so they can find an appropriate job after they are sent back to the community. Without a shadow of a doubt, education and training are more viable methods to cope with criminals. While the merits that education and training programs bring to offenders are widely acknowledged, society is benefited as well. During the serving time, offenders live mostly rely on the national coffer which is paid for by ordinary citizens. By giving them sufficient skills to earn their own income, it will not only reduce the financial burden to the whole nation but also encourage them to become productive members of society. In the long run, it can reduce the crime rate in that country which may act as a precursor for the prosperity of a nation. Notably, well-educated and trained offenders can also bring favourable impacts to the community. To sum up, I strongly believe that educating and training law-breakers is tremendously beneficial for their reintegration as well as society