To meet the growing needs of food for the increasing population, country should make use of edible insects as foods. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but affect negatively the nature too. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Recently, the debate on whether eating insects is good or harmful to humans and natural has made a large noise. Since there are different benefits and drawbacks of treating insects as food, this essay will examine this point. To begin with, eating insects can reduce the burden of global warming and the rapidly increasing population. The production of meat such as beef, pork and chicken produce a large amounts of greenhouse gases as they need to feed lot and take a long time to grow. Which aggravate the evolution of global warming. For insect, however, they don’t need lots of food and is ready to be eaten a month later. The short raises time can provide more supply to satisfy the increasing demand for food due to the large population in a more environmentally friendly way. On the contrary, insects may have negative effects on nature. If countries make use of edible insects as foods and intend to raise this trend, the over the catch of natural insects may limit the food available for other animals such as snakes or birds as insects used to be their food. This can result in huge damage to the ecosystem as it breaks the balance and will cause a large negative impact on the natural and environment. Some animals may not have enough food to feed themselves which may be endangered and reduce the variable of the ecosystem. Overall, there are benefits and drawbacks to eating insects. For example, eating insects can reduce the burden of food shortage and the production of edible insects is also more environmentally friendly than that of meat. Eating insects may also cause some damage to the ecosystem. However, the drawbacks may be solved by eating cultured insects or using technology to reduce the negative impact.