Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a common believe by some individuals that teenagers should dedicate their free time offering free services to the community. They believe that this would be beneficial to the teenagers and the society at large. I am of the same opinion. This essay will discuss the benefits and a lack of it when teenagers spend their free time offering free services to the community. To start with, engaging teenagers during their free time prevents idleness. There exist a universal agreement that an idle mind is devils workshop. Teenagers possess a lot of energy that if not utilised well would be spent doing destructive activities. My very own country, Kenya, has come up with National youth service programs that engage youths after completing secondary level education. In addition, involving teenagers in community activities equips them with necessary life skills. Life skills are crucial in everyone’s life. Teenagers can use the learnt skills to better their life ’s and the community at large. In the recent past, teenagers in my village conducted a campaign to sensitize people on the importance of maintaining a clean environment. This activity not only benefitted individual families but it also benefitted the community as well. On the contrary, if teenagers are not remunerated, they would lack motivation to continue offering their services. Every individual requires appreciation for work well done. This enhances hard work in the future. In one of the communities in my country, there was a high attrition rate by teenagers from a communal group that was formed to offer free services. The main reason for the attrition was a lack of motivation to continue offering the services. In conclusion, involving teenagers during their free time prevents idleness and equips them with life skills that are not only beneficial to them but are also beneficial to the community. However, if they are not remunerated for the good work, there would be a lack of motivation and a high attrition rate.