Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

Majority of people have this belief that social networks for instance Facebook has had a noticeable negative effect on individuals and the community at large. In my opinion the social networks waste a lot of time for majority of the people and at the same time has led to cybercrime. However, they provide a good marketing avenue for business products. Firstly, many people waste a lot of time in social networks. This is especially so with the young generation. A youth will wake up to social networks to the extent of forgetting other important chores. Recently there was a global complain from employers that employees are spending a lot of time in phones rather than doing the main businesses. Social networking has also contributed to cybercrime. Many people innocently upload their social environments and interactions with their peers in the social networks. What they are unaware of is that some individuals remain online trying to track or find whereabouts of other people and this exposes the innocent people to theft and even abduction. My very own country has been forced to pass legislative bills to counter cybercrimes that have been going out of hand. A good thing is that social networks provide an advertising platform for business products. Business people have from the recent past found a new avenue where they can market their products. I have friends who entirely rely on Facebook to market and sell their goods and services. This has even been embraced by companies including government institutions. In conclusion, many people especially the young generation waste a lot of time in social networks like Facebook. The social networks have also contributed to increased prevalence of cybercrime. On the contrary, the social networks have provided an advertising and selling medium for business products. It is my wish that if the social networks are used properly they would improve our lives and the welfare of the society at large.