In the future all cars, buses and truks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued that all the transport in the future will become autonomous, and the drivers will no longer be required. Although this will result in some people losing their jobs, I believe that the benefits far outweigh the drawbacks because of the convenience these vehicles will provide. The main disadvantage of driverless vehicles is that many people will become jobless. At present, almost 10% of the earth's total workforce is involved directly or indirectly in transporting people, goods and other things. Consequently if every vehicle on the streets will have no driver, all these people would not be required for driving. However, I believe that the world is changing constantly since the beginning of time, and with these changes our way of working have also evolved and as a result of that jobs are producing in new sectors. These people can apply for jobs in those sector. For example, 5o years back IT industry was nearly non-existent. The primary benefit of these vehicles will be the easiness and less dependency on drivers. That is because a number of people at present don't know how to drive. Moreover, children and old people are also not allowed to drive. Whenever these people have to go somewhere they are dependent on another person to take them. For example 30% of Indian citizens, who are eligible for driving don't know how to do that. Therefore I am of the opinion that the advantages of driverless cars, buses and trucks are far superior. In conclusion, although a few people will have to switch careers, much more will benefit from this transformation in the society. For this, I think the positives outnumber the negatives.