Remote working has become more and more common in many countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages of remote working?

Over the past few years, the way of working has dramatically changed due to the advancement of digital technologies, which enables people to work remotely and provide enormous benefits to companies and employees. However, online work also contributes to some drawbacks. In this essay, I will elaborate on the pros and cons of remote working in detail. The first advantage of distance working is a reduction in the marginal cost of production. As it allows officers to work without offices, the company reduce the cost of renting offices and electrical bills. Moreover, it is also beneficial for workers because they are able to work at home, which they do not have to waste their money on transportation. To illustrate this, due to the measure to restrict the spreading of Covid-19, most organizations must force employees to work at home at the rate of 90%, which some companies decide to continues this approach despite the ending of the pandemic because they can save a huge of money and get the same result of implementation. On the other hand, some disadvantages can be found from this type of work. Firstly, the relationship among colleagues become weak. As the relationship in the office can be only formed by face to face activities including having lunch together, drinking coffee together, and brainstorming in person. All these activities can make the relationship closer and can improve the efficacy of working. Secondly, working from home can contribute to physical and mental stresses among persons. Due to working alone and glancing at the screen for a long time, officers' eyes are harmed by blue light from the screen, and brains are more tired than working on-site. According to the published research, more than 90% of workers prefer to work at the office as they are more relaxed and have less stress compared to working at home. In conclusion, it is apparent that nowadays online working plays an important role in routine job owing to saving cost and promoting conveniences for both employees and employers, but it also has drawbacks such as accumulating stresses and worsening the relationship among officers. To balance this, the companies should handle the suitable one for the particular work.