Some people say that supermarkets and manufacturers have a responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging on products they sell. Others believe that it is the consumer’s responsibility to avoid buying products which have a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Due to the detrimental impacts of materials used for packaging in today's day and age, it has become a debated topic whether manufacturers and salesmen should reduce the colossal amounts of packaging in their products, or whether consumers should avoid such products in the hopes of protecting the environment. To begin with, it is believed that major multinational corporations and factories with massive productions are to blame for a large portion of the environmental damage caused in the past few decades. To promote their brand and attract more consumers, these factories overuse plastic and colourful papers to label their products. Toys, for instance, are wrapped in many plastics, and every part of one is wrapped in a separate plastic bag, which could easily be reduced. As such, it would be fair to say, these huge producers are the ones who are burdened with huge responsibilities to replace their packaging in order to reduce excessive resource consumption. The public, however, as shoppers, is free to select the products that cater to their particular needs from the variety of options provided by malls and supermarkets. Every individual is responsible for the factors that might lead to an ecological crisis. This is why consumers should select products without excessive packaging when shopping. This simple action may reduce excessive use of plastic and paper and, in the long run, would contribute to a gradual decrease in the sale rate of such products with overpacking. This can be regarded as an indirect message to owners of those companies to take essential steps to eliminate extra packing. Thus, purchasers play an indispensable role in this term. To sum up, while it is believed that manufacturers are burdened with the massive responsibility of eliminating extra use of boxing materials, others think that it is consumers’ responsibility to avoid buying such products. In my opinion, both owners of businesses and individuals as buyers have a crucial role