Some commentators feel that grandparents should live together with their children and grandchildren, while others say that older people should be encouraged to live independently. Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate, and reach your own conclusion.

The argument was sparked in view of whether elders should live with their extended families or live independently. In my opinion, I believe that it is best for older people to live with the youngsters. On the one hand, there are various reasons many people support the idea that grandparents should live with their children. The first thing is that family members should be able to expect a higher level of emotional support from their elders As a result, they have a lower risk of getting mental issues, for instance, major depressive disorder, which is one of the common mental illnesses for solitary elders. On the other hand, living with their families mean that they can be taken care of. It is critical for those who have diseases such as dementia. Although there are arguments against it, I strongly believe that elderly people should be encouraged to become as self-reliant as possible. The first advantage is that it will boost their self-esteem and protect them from a mental decline when they get older. It is scientifically proven that the possibility of getting mental diseases in old people who live independently is the lowest. In addition, it is a sorrowful fact that many younger families these days do not have the housing space or even spare time, which is necessary to take care of their grandparents properly. Finally, many older members may not have the chance to visit their grandchildren frequently, making their visits all the more meaningful. In conclusion, deciding whether grandparents should live with the extended family or live independently depends on people's wishes, circumstances, and choices. However, many arguments lean in favour of grandparents living more independently.