Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what ef ects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

Most people believe that illiteracy will ultimately affect people’s lives and society. There appear to be some leading causes and a number of effects on individuals and communities, which will be discussed here. Perhaps the prominent cause, especially in less developed countries, is the lack of free education. It seems that the ever-rising expense of living demands and poorly paid occupations do not allow families to afford free education. In addition, a less-discussed reason could be immigration from inferior countries to more industrial areas and also from villages to large cities. Some people can not adapt to this complicated situation and would leave education. Therefore, undesirable consequences of these situations lead to an increase in illiteracy and inevitable results. Probably it would contribute to a decline in all fields of society’s interests. These range from arts, literature, discipline, modernity, which lead us to waterish movies shallow books. On the other hand, these groups would participate in different elections and policies, leading to determination instead of educated ones. They might be unable to make the correct decision. Furthermore, in an illiterate community, due to not having enough information about laws delinquency, crime would increase. Consequently, it would contribute to lessening security. In conclusion, illiteracy is a misfortune event in the world that would affect the community's circumstances and should be prevented as much as possible.