Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

No doubt that thinking about the past takes a vast amount of time in everyone's life. Therefore, we should decide whether we let the past affect our decisions and life in the present, or we may also live our lives freely without the chains of the past. This essay argues that learning about the past is a valuable thing to do and will provide some pieces of evidence and examples for that position. First, Learning about the past of other people is relatively important as we can learn from their mistakes and their correct decisions. For example, when choosing a career path or any other big life-changing decision, we can really make use of other people's experiences and see the possible ramifications if we followed a similar route. Of course, not everyone is the same however learning from other people's experiences can have a positive impact on our future. Second, One can benefit from his own experiences in the past. As the famous quote says "we live and learn", the reality proves this quote as a fact. Some people will argue that older people are usually wiser and can have a good judgment and vision for the future. Another evidence for this argument is that scientific research found that a tremendous part of anyone's personality and character is shaped in his childhood. Therefore, learning about our own past and taking lessons from it is a great attitude to have and a skill to master. In summary, the past has a great impact on our present lives and I personally highly disagree with that original prompt that argues that it does not have value for us living in the present.