Many aspects of way the people dress today are influenced by global fashion trends. How has global fashion become such a strong influence on people’s lives ? do you think this is a positive or negative development

In today’s globalised world, a significant number of people's clothing is influenced by ongoing fashion trends. From my perspective, it is considered a negative trend. Accordingly, in this essay, both drawbacks and advantages will be mentioned. To begin with, I suppose these modes of trend might affect younger individuals more than the elderly, because young people are influenced by means of social media applications, for example, Snapchat and Instagram, as they want to be like their favourite actor or singer. On the other hand, in contrast to adults who have their own taste in clothing, which means difficult to be inspired or influenced by other influencers. In terms of drawbacks, the majority of trends are not suitable for all body shapes and skin tones; moreover, blindly following recent dress direction, by ignoring lots of factors. As a result of this, the person will not look like his/her favourite artist due to the natural variety of human beings. A survey conducted in the capital of Saudi Arabia, in 2024, demonstrated that the most affected group were the young females, who captured the highest proportion, 83% of the total Riyadh citizens. Furthermore, today’s trend in fashion has a positive side; for instance, once the girl/boy has become accustomed to the look, it will enhance their self-confidence and improve their mood. In addition, it is playing a role in levelling up their financial status by being an influencer in the fashion industry. A study conducted at the University of London in 2022 depicts that shopping has a massive impact on the individual mentality, with feelings of happiness and relaxation. In conclusion, following the update in the fashion sector has both sides and should be guided by some factors as skin colour and body shape. However, each person should express her/his personality and taste, which aims to look perfect.