plastic bags ,plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. what damage does plastic do to the environment?what can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Our world is going through an environmental crisis and plastic plays a major role in it. It has become part of our daily life; however, its proper disposal has become a difficult problem to tackle. The combined effort of both the government and people are necessary to control this issue. Though plastic is immensely useful to us, it is very difficult to dispose due to the fact that it is non-biodegradable. It is now present in our food chain, this is a cause for concern along with the fact that both wildlife and sea life are also subjected to the side effects of it. For example, there have been reports where debris was found inside fish, turtles and dolphins being suffocated by wires around their neck. Studies have also found that most of the food that we consume has a trace amount of plastic waste in it. Various campaigns are being organised by the government and non-governmental organisations to make the people aware and also to provide a safe means for wastes disposal at the grassroots level. For instance, many villages in Kerala is providing door-to-door service to collect waste, these are then taken into a waste management factory. Also, some states have banned the use of polythene bags under certain microns and are promoting the use of cloth-based carry bags. Nevertheless, the most important method to reduce its usage is by the process of recycling. Educational institutions are also playing a major role in creating awareness and promoting this by conducting various workshops and seminars. In conclusion, though plastic has become an inseparable part of our life, it is our responsibility to be aware of the dangers and to take appropriate measures such that it would not harm our environment. However, if this situation is left untreated this will result in a global disaster which would prove fatal to all the living organisms.