Blood sports have become a hot topic for debate in recent years. As society develops it is increasingly seen as an uncivilized activity and cruel to the helpless animals that are killed. Blood sports should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern times, cruelty against animals has become a contentious issue. Helpless animals are pitted against each other for the pleasure of humans. Blood sports are inhumane, and I agree they should be banned altogether. ‘ Blood ’ in blood sports does not come from the blood of the animals but refers to the blood of royalty when it originated in the 16th century. As a sport for the royalty, the only ones allowed to practice, fox tossing competitions were famous. The foxes were put on a sling and shot out to the sky, with the highest ever recorded being 24 feet. Once the foxes landed, they were scared and attacked the legs and faces of the people throwing them. The cruel actions of tossing them in the air landing in a heap on the hard ground caused physiological damage to the animal. These unkind sports were used as entertainment at parties, especially with couples rivaling each other. Another blood sport played for 300 years and is practiced in modern times is bullfighting. While illegal in almost all parts of the world, it is still practiced in Spain and Portugal. Humans wager and cheer at the expense of helpless bulls, hoping to make money by gambling. About 250,000 bulls are killed each year, and many more are injured in the ring. To summarize, the two examples show how gruesome blood sports are and have been used for the pleasure of humans. Such cruelty does not belong in a civilized society, and I hope all the efforts that are taking place to ban such sports are successful.