Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. Do you agree or disagree?

It is indisputable that politicians use the money for recreational purposes like concerts, shows, etc, but this may cost a big amount of money, which could be used for public services that are indispensable. It is known that this shows require a lot of infrastructures such an installation of equipment, engineers and payment to the person who works there. In my opinion for example my country this is a waste of capital, there are other priorities and citizens do not agree to invest the money of their taxes in entertainment activities. Although people refuse this sort of activity, the government continue investing money in something that can distract the people from their reality making them forget about the real problems. in the last few,months there were a few local festivals in my city that cost around 3 million dollars when their local schools in those regions in falling in pieces. Art expositions do not need a big amount of government funds but could be helpful if they suggest an auction to collect capital for the towns that needed it the most. On the other hand, many people agree to have this sort of spectacles because is a social activity where you can interact with others, and they claim it is positive for their mental health while they affirm that having those recreational alternatives, improve their lifestyle and release them from the stress of their routine and social-economical problems. In conclusion, in a democratic society, governments should listen to the voice of the population, and give them solutions for their real problems instead of distracting them.